Uncensored Feminista

Changing the world one letter at a time.

Archive for June 11th, 2008

Tuesday Nights’: Something to think about

leave a comment »

While in class tonight, we were talking about violence against women, and one of my classmates brought up the fact that since the economy has taken a downturn, they’ve been noticing crime increasing. I have too. Lately you can’t turn on the news without hearing about who’s robbing who, who shot who and for what, things of that nature.

Now, here’s my thinkingand please tell me if I’m totally off in my train of thoughtbeing that being employed and being the “bread winner” is traditionally something associated with masculinity and manhood in general, I’m curious if because of the recession we’re going through if the amount of violence against women has increased. Are men finding other ways to emasculate themselves by beating on their wives when they get upset or perpetrating acts of violence against women out of anger, frustration, feelings of inadequacy as a man?

Chew on this little topic and let’s discuss.

Written by Lissette

June 11, 2008 at 2:48 am

Posted in misogyny

Tagged with , ,