Uncensored Feminista

Changing the world one letter at a time.

President-Elect OBAMA!

leave a comment »

081104-obama-family-hmed-915ph2

I was hopeful, but there was doubt.  I had lost my faith in my fellow citizens to see what the right thing for this country was, and my faith has been restored tonight.  Not only for my fellow citizens, but that all things in this country are possible.  Tonight, we have written history.  Tonight, we have elected our first African American President.  Tonight, our President-Elect is no longer an older white man, or even a youngish white man, today, he is a black man with a true vision for our country.  Someone who comes from a background much like mine and who has had to struggle and work hard to be where he is now.  Tonight, we have someone who will fight for equality and the rights of all people in this nation on our side, in a position to institute true change in our society.

I have had my hope restored that if I work hard, I can achieve my dreams and I can become the person I want to be, and society has shown me that this is possible.  Our society has spoken out and creamed that it is more tolerent to different people.  Change has come.  Change is here.  Change is evident.  I congratulate Barack Obama, Joe Biden and their families on this monumental night.

Written by Lissette

November 5, 2008 at 1:47 am

Posted in Everything Else

Leave a Reply

