Uncensored Feminista

Changing the world one letter at a time.

I Voted Today!

leave a comment »

I went ahead and voted early today, and boy let me tell you, it took forever.  The polling place opened at 1pm today, and we got in line at about 12:30, and the picture to the left is what the line looked like.  We went to the Kendall Branch Library polling place, and if you know how this branch works, the front doors are on 96th Avenue, and the line wrapped around the block to 97th Ave.  It took us (because I brought my boyfriend with me) 2 and a half hours to get in and vote, and it was well worth it.  I shouldn’t have to tell you which way my vote went, but I can tell you I’m glad I did it now and not later.  I am glad I voted early, I’m glad I voted the way I did, and I’m glad I have the right to do so under Amendment 19

You know what makes me incredibly proud?  The man to the left.  It was his first time voting, and he did so because he feels that this election is important enough, and I talked him into it.  It seems that there are several other people who feel the same as David.  Why?  Because the world is a scary place right now.

So I’m proud of him.  I’m proud of me, and I’m proud of the example we’ve set for the little one as well who doesn’t quite understand why he can’t vote, but I’m sure we’ll be talking about that more with the days to come.

Don’t be discouraged by the long lines guys, this is an incredibly important election and if you don’t vote, I don’t want to here shit about what McCain is doing to ruin our nation.  IT’S YOUR FAULT!  YOU SHOULD HAVE VOTED!

Here’s some quick stats:  in 2004 22 million women nation wide did not vote.  That’s 22 million women who did not voice their opinions.  If you want to see why it’s so important for women to vote, watch Iron Jawed Angels on HBO.  It’s on the women suffragists and everything they went through under Woodrow Wilson’s United States in order to get Amendment 19 passed so that we could all have the same privileges as men.  So go watch this movie, get inspired, and GO VOTE.

Written by Lissette

October 26, 2008 at 4:37 pm

Posted in Politics

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

