Uncensored Feminista

Changing the world one letter at a time.

Quick Friday Wrap-Up

leave a comment »

It’s been a while, I know, but life is incredibly busy lately with two research projects, one ecology project, and acting monologues to memorize, but I thought I would post a quick hello to you all simply to let you know that I’m still alive.

As for what’s going on in political news, I am incredibly ecstatic to find out that the polls are turning.  Obama is again in the lead in the polls, and it seems that there has finally been a shift among women from the McCain camp back to the Obama Camp.  He’s even ahead in battleground states, according to MSNBC.  Honestly, I was starting to get worried.  I was already thinking of how I was going to pack up my house, my cats, the kid, and the boyfriend to move us all to Canada, but it appears as if the blinders are coming off and I won’t have to move.

This election is important.  It is so important in fact that I succeeded in convincing my boyfriend that he must not only register to vote but vote come November 4th, and he’s watching the news daily to see what else is going on in the McCain/Palin camp as far as all the drama goes.

Obama was here in Miami for a rally this morning, but unfortunately I could not go.  I ust recently started a new job and was unable to ask for the day off to go see him, so I’m a bit bummed that I missed the rally.  I can only hope there was someone out there nice enough to video it and will be posting it up on YouTube later on tonight.

I also attended a panel discussion called “Sex, Lies, and Sterotypes” that was hosted by Planned Parenthood, VOX, and SEICUS.  I will write more on it later, but the jist of it is that Abstinence only education is bad (like we needed a panel to tell us that), and it’s being implemented domestically and internationally.  Kids are being misinformed, it’s not working internationally, and more and more people are contracting HIV/AIDS and dying.  Locally Planned Parenthood is trying to organize the Healthy Teens Campaign which I personally think is awesome because it would stop the lies and the half truths from being spread, but unfortunately right now they’re not teaching anything at all because of “budget cuts” (or so they claim), so I’m writing letters to the Board in hopes that they will see the error of their ways, but I would love it if others would do the same.

One last thing before I go; if anyone had done any research on how toys genderize kids or on commercial sexual exploitation of kids, please email me at lmato002 {AT} fiu {DOT} edu.  I would love your input or any information that you found.  Thanks!  🙂

Written by Lissette

September 19, 2008 at 4:29 pm

Posted in Everything Else, Politics

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

