Uncensored Feminista

Changing the world one letter at a time.

Why isn’t the pill OTC yet?

with 3 comments

Could somebody please tell me why in the world Birth Control Pills and Nuvaring are not over-the-counter yet? Is there anything in the world wrong with the pills being OTC when they’re no more dangerous than taking an aspirin? Why do I have to go through this madness every year of having to somehow get in contact with my OB/GYN to renew my prescription for birth control, which is something that would take a couple of hours on a good day, and a couple of days on bad ones. This situation could easily be remedied if these stupid pills would be made OTC already. In my state, EC is considered OTC when you flash your ID proving that you’re over 18 years old, which that in itself is bullshit if you ask me. Any woman REGARDLESS of age should be allowed to get EC without having to consult your parents, but that’s another issue for another time. My point is that if EC, which is a couple times the dosage of a birth control pill, is considered OTC, then why the fuck can’t the pill or Nuvaring, or all the others that are like the pill be considered OTC too?

Written by Lissette

July 14, 2008 at 5:53 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, I can understand the reasons for at least requiring a first-time visit. For example, the fact that high blood pressure runs in my family were important things for my doctor to know when deciding which pill would be best for me. I can’t be on high-dose pills because they shoot my blood pressure up like crazy. As for the follow-up visits every year, well, I guess since I’m required to get eye exams every year to get my contact lens prescription renewed, I’m used to it. But honestly, I also think that taking artificial hormones is a little different from taking aspirin. It’s probably good to go in once a year and make sure your birth control isn’t somehow creating havoc in your reproductive system.

    earlgreyrooibos

    July 14, 2008 at 10:22 pm

  2. One thing is a first time visit, another is someone who goes to the ob/gyn twice a year for check-ups and is in between visits. They make you jump through hoops in order to renew the script, and it’s truthfully a huge PITA.

    Lissette

    July 15, 2008 at 8:48 am

  3. I see your point. I guess because, as I said, I need to get annual checkups just to get contacts, it doesn’t bother me. Although my only experiences with a gyno up till now have been through the college and university I attended. So we’ll see what it’s like for me “on the outside.”

    earlgreyrooibos

    July 15, 2008 at 2:43 pm


Leave a Reply

