Uncensored Feminista

Changing the world one letter at a time.

Time is not on my side

leave a comment »

I have been so busy and swamped with school work that I haven’t really had much time for anything else, not even being sick like I have been for the past week.

I’m currently reading the Malleus Maleficarium (aka The Witch’s Hammer) for class, and I’m truly taken aback at how these two Dominican monks really didn’t know nor understand women. They related everything that women did to the devil and every bodily function of desire or what not was the work of the devil, going as far back as to creation stories. It’s pretty sad. More on it soon as I read further into it.

I’ve also been reading this book, “Pillars of the Earth” for the same class and have been unable to put it down! It’s really a great read. It’s historically and religiously accurate, which is wonderful because I can really get into it, I can really visualize what’s going on, and it’s just an incredibly awesome read. It also shows women’s rise to power and how women were treated during Medeivel Europe.

It’s been pretty hectic lately with school, I have a test today and I’m tryin to keep up, so I haven’t really had much time to ponder things outside of my schoolwork, except for what I’m made to read for classes, so I’m sorry the content has been lacking lately. I do want to write more on “Pillars…” and the Malleus Malleficarium because they’re both really important, in my opinion, especially the Malleus because of the women that suffered because of this work. Actually, I just want to say one thing: it seems that we really haven’t learned our lesson all that much since then. Women are still being persecuted by men simply because men don’t understand women and don’t even want to try to understand them and are still looking for ways to control them, which is what this work was all about.

More on all this soon…

Written by Lissette

July 8, 2008 at 10:34 am

Leave a Reply

