Uncensored Feminista

Changing the world one letter at a time.

Abortion ban closer in Colorado

with 3 comments

This news from the AP scares me so much I can’t even form the proper words. That and because it’s almost 1am and I’m reading this kind of news. Colorado is trying to put a motion on the ballot to ban abortion, but what they’re actually trying to do is define when an egg becomes a person.

DENVER (AP) — A proposed state constitutional amendment defining a fertilized human egg as a person was certified Thursday for the November ballot, moving Colorado a step closer to an election battle over abortion rights.

Ok, that’s fine and dandy.  Anti-abortionists have been saying this all along, but it’s this part that scares the bejesus out of me.

Opponents say the proposed amendment could affect birth control because the most widely used form of contraception works by preventing fertilized eggs from attaching to the uterus.

They also say the measure could deter in-vitro fertilization and stem cell research and bar doctors from treating women with some forms of cancer.

“Defining an egg as a person in our constitution and statutes isn’t science-based and makes bad public policy,” said Crystal Clinkenbeard, a spokeswoman for an organization called Protect Families Protect Choices, which opposes the measure.

I don’t want to become a baby machine simply because some lawmakers out there somewhere have claimed that my fertilized egg is a person from the moment it’s become fertilized. I don’t want my contraceptives taken away in order to save a theoretical life that may or may not attach, and may or may not form into something, but if it does I’m screwed. I don’t want someone else deciding for me when it is that I should have a baby or if I should or should not have sex, because basically that’s what it’ll come down to. It’ll come down to the issue of if I should have sex or not because if I can’t use my choice in contraceptives, then my sex life will go down the tubes.

My favorite part in the whole article is this:

Kristi Burton, the prime mover behind the measure, said her group, Colorado for Equal Rights, will target voters who personally oppose abortion but don’t want to impose their views on others.

She doesn’t want to impose her views on others, yet she’s the prime person trying to pass this law?! By allowing this law to pass she is not only imposing her views on others but she is not going to allow women to make a choice for themselves. And what is she afraid of? Does she think we’re incapable of coming to our own conclusions when it comes to our bodies? I can respect her more if she said that she would choose for herself not to have an abortion, and that’s fine, but to help pass a law that will not allow other women to make this decision for themselves is ludicrous and controlling.

I hope the men and women in Colorado can do something about this before it’s too late. I hope they can do something about maintaining their rights over their own bodies and their own decisions, and if there’s any other way I could help, just let me know and I’ll do my best, but word of this needs to spread. People need to know, so I’m trying to do my part.

Written by Lissette

May 30, 2008 at 5:04 am

Posted in Everything Else

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good post. You’d think it would be obvious that eggs aren’t people. To say they are is stupid, and threatens more than just abortion rights… talk about trying to force your views on others, sheesh – this threatens any type of birth control that work by disrupting implantation.

    la pobre habladora

    May 30, 2008 at 5:09 pm

  2. wow…i can’t imagine trying to sit down and prove or discover if it is at all possible – when an egg becomes a person.

    how about let’s find a way to feed the eggs that have now been birthed and are little human persons – human beings.

    human beings that are hungry and homeless – let us focus on those embryos.

    Child Hunger is a Crime!

    Miss Vicki

    May 30, 2008 at 9:40 pm

  3. Miss Vicki, this has always been my issue with anti-abortionists. They always want to save the fetus, but who’s going to be around to help feed the child when the mother can’t because she’s either got no money, has too many kids already, or various other reasons? These people sure aren’t. And my favorite response, “God will provide”. Well, in my opinion, if God were to provide, then God would already know the situation and not burden the mother like that! One thing is to have faith in your religion another thing is something I’d like to call “reality”, which is the world I live in, and in this world there are enough children that are starved and unwanted to force a woman to bring yet ANOTHER ONE into the world.

    Cuban Feminista

    May 30, 2008 at 10:59 pm


Leave a Reply

