Uncensored Feminista

Changing the world one letter at a time.

Gay Marriages OK in California

with one comment

I caught this  on eCanadaNow.com, gay marriages in the many counties in the state of California can begin as of June 14th.  See the article below.

Same-Sex Marriages Set To Begin In California

Washington (eCanadaNow) – Many counties in California will allow same-sex marriages starting on June 14.

Same-sex couples who simply cannot wait to get married may be able to do it as soon as this coming Saturday.

Many counties will allow for marriage licenses to be handed out as soon as this coming Saturday, exactly 30 days since the California Supreme Court ruled in favor of making same-sex marriages legal.

The decision of the court will take 30 days to go into effect and they waited exactly 30 days to allow the marriages to go through.

Those who oppose the same-sex marriages are working hard to allow voters to decide whether or not they should be legal on a planned November ballot.

This would overrule the decision and ban same-sex marriage.

This was from a decision on May 16th by the California Supreme Court.  The article I read in the LA Times reads:

The 4-3 ruling declared that the state Constitution protects a fundamental “right to marry” that extends equally to same-sex couples. It tossed a highly emotional issue into the election year while opening the way for tens of thousands of gay people to wed in California, starting as early as mid-June.

This is such a big step and I’m really hoping other states will follow suit.  I firmly believe that any individual should have the right to marry whom they choose regardless of their sexual preference.  For me, it’s not even about the marriage, but about all the benefits that follow along with that title.  I personally would want my partner to be able to make life decisions for me if need be, I would want him to be the first one that is called should and accident happen, and I would want us to have the same benefits as every other couple out there.  Fortunately, I don’t have to worry about it because we are a hetero couple, but if we were not I would demand the right, just like I’d demand it now for those out there who don’t have that right.  

I would not want to be told that I’m not allowed to marry the person I love simply because of my sexuality or gender preference, and I would hope that the rest of the nation starts to see it this way too.

Written by Lissette

May 27, 2008 at 2:16 pm

Posted in Gay Rights

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you for talking about gay marriage. It is a crucial issue to us in California, and we have a couple of major events coming up which need support.

    http://www.marriagecardproject.com
    http://www.marcjoseph.com/marriage.html

    Thanks!

    roomtwotwentytwo

    August 28, 2008 at 2:46 am


Leave a Reply

